RUSNANOPRIZE Award Committee Announced

23 August 2017

Twenty distinguished scientists and businesspersons from Russia, USA, Germany, Canada and South Korea has joined the superior Awarding Body of the Prize—the Awarding Committee of the 9th International Nanotechnology Award RUSNANOPRIZE 2017.

This year RUSNANOPRIZE, founded by Fund for Infrastructure and Educational Programs, will be awarded for the outstanding research and innovations that has been commercialized in the area of nanomaterials and surface modification. Nominations closed in August 10, 2017.

“Nanomaterials has been used by humanity for ages but only nowadays we’ve gained capability to understand their unique properties. Now we can even engineer new nanomaterials, their composition, structure, properties. All these makes the area of nanomaterials and nanotechnologies application much wider. This are area contains huge potential for extending the fundamental knowledge about the nature of the material and its application”, Artem Oganov, member of the RUSNANOPRIZE Award Committee says.

Constantin Solntsev, Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences and RUSNANOPRIZE Award Committee member, thinks that the whole history of the Humanity is closely connected with materials application: «Even broad prehistoric periods are named after materials been used: Stone Age, Bronze Age, Iron Age. Nanotechnologies development and developing new materials based upon them might be as well considered as a new historic period of evolution, and its importance can hardly be overestimated».

In 2017 the Committee consists of the following members

  • Sergio Kapusta, Professor of Materials Science and of Energy Innovation at Rice University in Houston
  • Anatoly Chubais, Chairman of the Executive Board, RUSNANO
  • Klaus Schäfer, CTO, Covestro AG
  • Victor Mann, CTO, RUSAL
  • Sergei Galibeev, Director, Directorate of Plastics, Elastomers, Organic Synthesis, SIBUR LLC
  • Boris Aleshin, Advisor—Science and Technology, United Aircraft Corporation
  • Chad Mirkin, George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry and Director of the International Institute of Nanotechnology, Northwestern University
  • Victor Bykov, Honorary President, NT-MDT Spectrum Instruments
  • Alexei Khokhlov, Vice-Rector, Head of Department for Innovations and International Cooperation, Lomonosov Moscow State University
  • Yury Gogotsi, Charles T. and Ruth M. Bach Professor Distinguished University Professor, Director, A.J. Drexel Nanomaterials Institute, Drexel University
  • Igor Zhitomirsky, Distinguished Engineering Professor, Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, McMaster University
  • Boris Chichkov, Head of the Nanotechnology Department, Institute of Quantum optics, Leibniz University Hannover and Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V.
  • Artem Oganov, Full Professor, State University of New York at Stony Brook, Head of Computational Materials Discovery Laboratory, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, State University of New York at Stony Brook
  • Olga Boltalina, Senior Research Associate, Colorado State University
  • Taeghwan Hyeon, Director, Center for Nanoparticle Research, Institute for Basic Science (IBS), Professor, School of Chemical and Biological Engineering Seoul National University
  • Thomas Mallouk, Evan Pugh University Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Physics, and Engineering Science and Mechanics, Pennsylvania State University
  • Alevtina Chernikova, Rector, The National University of Science and Technology MISiS
  • Konstantin Solntsev, Director, Baikov Institute of Metallurgy and Materials Science, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Sergey Psakhie, Director, Institute of Strength Physics and Materials Science (ISPMS) SB Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Sergey Kravchenko, President, Boeing Russia & CIS.

In 2017 the Prize will be awarded for the 9th time. It is awarded annually to researchers, scientists and developers (up to three people) being the authors of scientific-technological discovery or discoveries in the field of nanotechnologies, and to the company being the first to apply the discovery (discoveries) to mass production with the annual production output of at least $10 million and reached business success through the application of the discovery (discoveries).

Financial rewards, prize symbols and honorary diploma of the Prize are awarded to inventors, scientists and developers, the authors of the R&D projects or technologies implemented into production. The company that has achieved some significant commercial success due to the implementation of these technologies is awarded with an honorary diploma and a glass ball, which is a RUSNANOPRIZE symbol.

Both Russian and foreign organizations as well as personalities, save for Prize Awarding Committee members, can nominate a researcher (researchers) for the Prize, self-nomination is also possible.

Additional information


RUSNANO Joint-Stock Company was founded in March 2011 through reorganization of state corporation Russian Corporation of Nanotechnologies. JSC RUSNANO contributes to implementation of the state policy on the development of the nanotechnology industry by investing directly and through investment funds of nanotechnology in financially effective high-technology projects providing the development of new production facilities in the Russian Federation. Its primary investment focus is in electronics, optoelectronics and telecommunications, healthcare and biotechnology, metallurgy and metalwork, energy, mechanical engineering and instrument making, construction and industrial materials, chemicals and petrochemicals. 100 percent of RUSNANO’s shares are state owned. Thanks to RUSNANO’s investments, there are currently 97 factories and R&D Centers opened in 37 regions in Russia. JSC RUSNANO has profit for the last 4 years.

Management of assets of RUSNANO JSC is carried out by Limited Liability Company established in December 2013, RUSNANO Management Company. Anatoly Chubais is the Chairman of its Executive Board.

Work to establish nanotechnology infrastructure and carry out educational programs is fulfilled by RUSNANO’s Fund for Infrastructure and Educational Programs, which was also established during the reorganization of the Russian Corporation of Nanotechnologies.

* * *

The RUSNANOPRIZE was established in 2009 by Russian Nanotechnologies Corporation, which is one of the world’s largest investment companies in the innovation industry. The prize is awarded to both Russian and foreign nationals. Four of the eight winners in the five-year history of the award have been foreign designers.

The RUSNANOPRIZE aims to promote:

  • integration of the needs of business with the interests of the scientific community;
  • broader public awareness of developments and practical applications in the field of nanotechnology;
  • the encouragement of experimental and applied research and development in nanotechnology and their use in industry;
  • international cooperation in this field;
  • public recognition of the role of the individual scientists, developers and teams that carry out scientific research.

For more information, please visit